Wot are they all about? Part 1

20140120-171003.jpg

Right! I’ve been asked to explain myself. Not the usual stuff like the corpses under the patio (joke) or the 50 plus pairs of trainers in the wardrobe (not a joke), but the reasoning behind the content and composition of some of my drawings and paintings. I’m starting with my current work, an interpretation of the illustrations from Alice’s Adventures in Wonderland. I’m starting at very beginning (which is a very good place to start) with the white rabbit.
When I came up with the idea of doing this, I wanted my characters, The Dweeblings, to be ‘dressing up’ as the characters from wonderland, in the kind of made up way that children use their imaginations to cobble an outfit together from whatever is lying about. In this case, a rather fetching pair of novelty rabbit ears and an old tweed jacket that my dad owned. For the rabbit’s feet I thought it would be nice, seeing as he is always running around, to design an enormous pair of trainers. They are a hybrid of Adidas shell toes with elements of Nike Airmax and Lebron. The background is somewhere or other but it can’t be that important where as I can’t remember. So there you go! A picture explained! More to follow.

20140120-160333.jpg

Comments are closed.

