The Kings and Queens of Kings Road

20130321-215948.jpg
I feel like I need to be writing a sick note or a “Please Miss, my dog ate it!” lack of homework excuse rather than a blog post. Suffice to say, I have been a very busy boy for the past year or so. I shall try and catch up with all that soon but, in the meantime, this is what is happening now.
About six weeks or so I had the offer of some gallery space to do a solo show in ,the Kave Gallery, st Leonards on Sea, my home town of the last five years or so. I have been working on a series of Alice in Wonderland illustrations but I knew there was no way to get them finished in the time available. I had a bit of a head scratch and then it occurred to me to base some work on the characters I see every day and the thoughts that dart through my brain as I daydream my way about the town. St Leonards is a strange place, the wealthy, the dull, the mad, the poor and people from many cultures seem to live their lives in close proximity to one another but barely acknowledge each other’s existence.
I decided to mix them all up and chuck in a few of my less crazy wonderings and see what happened. The result was The Kings and Queens of Kings Road.
You can see my new paintings and a selection of previous work at the Kave Gallery, 8 Kings Road, St Leonards on Sea from the 12th to the 27th of April

20130321-225701.jpg

20130321-225744.jpg

Comments are closed.

